Arrived and settling in

I woke up this morning to the sounds of birds tweeting and a yoga class underway somewhere in the vicinity.  I will have to check that out, always a good start to the day. I briefly met 3 young Australians who are also staying at Lok’s.  I mean mid 20s when I say young ….. lordy am I aging or what?!  The two girls are occupational therapists voulnteering at a children’s centre and the lad is teaching English …. taking a break before he breaks into the world of investment management – I cannot escape?!

Breakfast was hearty and delicious and Lok kindly put me on the right bus to SIRC.  I managed to cross the road without getting knocked down (fortunately my stay in London served me well, navigating manic traffic) and walked up the hill to SIRC.  Glorious morning after a foggy start, it’s good to get stuck in straight away at ‘work’.

Enroute from the airport yesterday, I stopped into SIRC and met with Prakash who assists Esha with administration of the clinic.  He gave me a quick tour of the clinic which was great to see in person.  There are currently about 30 male and 20 female patients in the clinic at this time, all at various stages of their rehabilitation.  The space is amazing, and all wheelchair accessible right up to the rooftop where they have a basketball court and also play badminton.  Pretty impressive.  I also saw the occupational therapy (OT) area and the vocational training are where they learn how to make candles, sew and the new thing, felting.  Basically have the ability to generate an alternate income from these new skills once they return home.

Some of you may remember the silent auction I ran in Nov 2011 on Bowen, these items are similar to those lovely bags and purses that were for auction.  They currently sell them locally in Banepa but for sure they could sell many more in Thamel (the tourist destination in Kathmandu).  Maybe something I could do??

Right now I am familiarizing myself with SIRC and all it’s achievements.  I’ve just been handed the freshly minted strategic plan 2011-2016 so will get stuck into this document, and after a chat with Esha, hopefully get into something meaningful in the next few days.

In the meantime I am enjoying the incredibly slow pace with which Nepali life hums to.  No complaints from me. Wish me luck for the bus ride home this evening, no crossing of roads required thankfully!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Arrived and settling in

  1. Grace Coffey says:

    What a start to your new life – sounds really amazing and only day 2!!! Hope you arrived home safe and sound. gxx

  2. jennywest51 says:

    Kate, what you are up to is so exciting and inspiring. I know you will absolutely make the most of it and give ‘er your all! Thanks for bringing me along on your journey in this way. Love you love you love you. Jenny

  3. jgedye says:

    did your pkg to yourself arrive?  can we send you goody bags?  sweet or savoury? j

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  4. bkmiec says:

    Nice to think of you “enjoying the incredibly slow pace with which Nepali life hums to.” Very nice indeed…. xoxo b

  5. I am so happy you are blogging. I feel like I am a part of this journey and can’t wait to keep following you. Much love xoxo

Leave a Reply

