Chandeshwori Temple, Banepa

To stretch my legs after the 2-hour bus ride from KTM, I went for a quick walk up to the Chandeshwori Temple before the sun went down.  This is not the 1.5hour walk I usually do but about a 30mins walk.  It just shows how quickly I can get out into the countryside from Lok’s house. 

Typically shaped haystack around Banepa

Typically shaped haystack around Banepa

Stables made with mud walls

Stables made with mud walls

The fields are being prepared for the potato season and the garlic and onions are coming through.

Potato drills - the same the world over

Potato drills – the same the world over

Onions and garlic

Onions and garlic

It was a relatively quiet walk up to the temple and I snapped a few shots of veggies and such, and of course the entrance to the temple.  

Veggies for sale. The taro root vegetable (Nepalese style) is on the left.  It tastes yum!

Veggies for sale. The tarul vegetable (like a yam) is on the left. It’s huge and awkward looking but it tastes yum!

Chandeshwori Temple entrance

Chandeshwori Temple entrance

As I walked into the temple, I heard fabulous music, great cheering and hilarity. As I rounded the corner, there were at least 10 flute players, and men playing an assortment of drums and cymbals.  And lots of people dancing. 

View of the band and dancers

View of the band and dancers

Percussion crew

Percussion crew

Ladies dancing

Ladies dancing

A few men enjoying the music

A few men enjoying the music

The married ladies giggling (married ladies wear red)

The married ladies giggling (married ladies wear red)

Needless to say I was the only westerner there and while I was clicking away with my camera, I was dragged into the “dance floor”.  Fortunately for you, there is no photographic evidence of me twirling this way and that, complete with twisting wrists and fancy footwork.  The crowd loved it, I was puce with embarrassment and after (what felt like) 10 mins, I sidled off the dance floor and stood back to take some more photos.  I asked a man what was the occasion and he said it was just Newari’s having fun on their day off.  That’s cool with me! The band took a breather and I took the opportunity to sneak away before I was pulled out for more dancing and disgrace myself further.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chandeshwori Temple, Banepa

  1. Kate TP says:

    What a pity there is no photographic record of the dancing! Sounds as though you could run a sideline in tourist guide. You seem to have apart ulnar touch with Temples!

  2. bkmiec says:

    Great photos, Kate. That’s some “haystack” indeed. Love the one of veggies sprawled on the ground, and I always like those landscape shots, so thanks for showing us the fields along one of your walks. Great timing, too, your visit to the temple! Looks like a pretty cool way to spend a day off!

  3. shrikant says:

    Dear madam,i am a kyphoscoliosis patient and i want help from the sirc organisation to treat me as nowadays i have been in a serious muscles cram.Please, do contact me :9815306669

  4. Eddy Szczerbinski says:

    I enjoy reading you a lot. Thanks for sharing all those nice pictures and your adventures. Take care and thank you very much !

  5. Renu says:

    How wonderful that you met frienda from Vancouver! The pictures & your narration makes me feel like i am right there! Thx;)

  6. Grace Coffey says:

    You were always great on the dancefloor Kats! Fab to see all the photos – exactly how I was imagining Banepa from your brilliant accounts – thanks!! gx

  7. ASB says:

    Just got caught up on your blog…Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Am loving your blog – it’s so vivid that I feel as though I’m right there with you. Wish I were. Will aim to check in more frequently now that I’ve discovered bookmarking.
    Have a great day today!
    ASB

  8. Rita says:

    Kate, great photogarphy and words – I feel I was right there with you on the walk.The countryside views are gorgeous – tilled fields and green pasture. I am interested in hearing the music sound from those precussion and flute instruments – the Banepa equivaent of the Trad Seisiúin! Take Care

    • Kate Coffey says:

      Ha ha, I am sure it was nothing like your performance at the Aras, but yes, I have just discovered how to take a movie on my camera so will try to do that the next opportunity for sure. Only two more sleeps for you Rita – I am thrilled for you!!

  9. Tandi says:

    Kate, that sounds like so much fun! THanks for sharing. I would like to know if you are learning any Nepali?

Leave a Reply

