Another visit with Mingmar and Family

I had a lovely time staying with Mingmar and family again last Friday night.  As a treat, we went to Rumdoodles – the infamous restaurant in Thamel (tourist area of KTM) where summiters go to design a Big Foot in celebration of their summit. The 2011 group I summitted Island Peak (20,300ft) with also designed a Big Foot but Pemba, Mingmar & Doma’s youngest, could not find it despite the threat of no pizza if it was not located :-). He did however find the Big Foot of Mingmar’s fifth (or maybe 6th) Everest summit of 2013 – very impressive!

(l to r) Rinju, Doma,, Yanji, me, Pemba and Mingmar at Rundoodles, Thamel

(l to r) Pasang Rinji, Doma, Yanji, me, Pemba and Mingmar at Rundoodles, Thamel

Saturday morning Mingmar, Pemba and I went on a morning walk up to Kapan Monastery,  This time Mingmar used his charm to get us inside, last time it was closed to outsiders as there was a special retreat taking place.  Some photos of the beautiful monastery follow.

Decorative front door of Monastery entrance

Decorative front door of Monastery entrance

View inside, very beautiful.

View inside, very beautiful.

Peaceful gardens at the Monastery.  With Pemba and Mingmar by the fountain

Peaceful gardens at the Monastery. With Pemba and Mingmar by the fountain

Mingmar & Pemba up close.

Mingmar & Pemba up close.

Mingmar is heading to Everest again as Mountain Guide with Peak Freaks at the end of March.  Wishing him a safe and successful summit.

Two buildings up from where Mingmar & family live, a few artisans were working on some copper pieces commissioned by Kapan Monastery out on the street in the warm sun.

Two buildings up from where Mingmar & family live, a few artisans were working on some copper pieces commissioned by Kapan Monastery out on the street in the warm sun.  The iPhone provided the music!

After morning walk and breakfast, Doma, Yanji and I headed off to Boudhnath to attend a prayer gathering by a Lama at the Sherpa Centre there.  I just love the tone of the Lama’s voice reciting the prayers (check out YouTube clip), very soothing and therapeutic. Once the prayers were over, about 600 people lined up for a very tasty lunch and Doma caught up with her Sherpa friends, some of whom were visiting from the mountains especially for the occasion. It was a very interesting time and I am grateful for Doma and Yanji for including me in such a great experience to learn more about Sherpa culture.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another visit with Mingmar and Family

  1. Gracie says:

    You get that glimce of the Sherpas routines, that I am sure most of the climbers would like to see and know about, before going to the mountains. I can’t wait to come visit you! See Annapurna at sunset again, such beauty! Give my best to Mingmar! Big hug, Gracie

  2. Renu says:

    Nice! What a beautiful monastery and for you to visit your old friend Mingmar;)

  3. bkmiec says:

    Yay… nice to see the first photo of you during this time away : ) Thanks for including that. You look happy, Kate. Mingmar and family look like a lovely bunch, and sounds like you had a great time with them. That red door to the monastery (and the braided thingy attached to the door handle) is stunning. Also love seeing the photo of the artisan working on copper plates…. you are having a most interesting time, my friend. Thanks for sharing all of your news and adventures with us….

Leave a Reply

