Happy Losar!

Losar is Tibetan New Year, celebrated by the Sherpa, Tamang and a few other ethnic groups here in Nepal.  It’s an important celebration for my friend Mingmar Sherpa and his family as they headed down to the Boudhnath Stupa at dawn this morning to burn incense, join in on the prayers, light a butter lamp or two, and listen to the deep sounds of the long copper horns.  It’s a pity I could not join them as I am back in Bhainsepati at the SIRC offices today. However, we had an early celebration on Friday night, when TA and Marion from St John’s Newfoundland, visited Mingmar and family.  I met TA in 2008 on the Pumori Base Camp trek.  It was my first time in Nepal, and also my first time ever camping – yes. it’s true, first time ever camping at 18,000 ft in -20C!  It was an experience for sure and TA taught me camping at high altitude 101.  I had to be a fast learner!  I had not met TA since then so it was lovely to connect again at Mingmar’s home.  Mingmar was TA’s guide in her 2010 summit attempt on Everest … it is a small world. But I digress from the Losar celebrations ….. we had a wonderful dhal bhat meal with rice, Doma’s very yummy dhal, curried chicken and greens.  All washed down with Doma’s homemade chang.  Chang is lethal!  Just so you know. Chang is made from mashed corn and millet with yeast, fermented for a few months.  When you are ready to serve, the mash is added to a tea towel and ‘washed’ through water to make the liquid chang.  It is then poured into cups and topped up 3 times for good luck.  I am unsure if the lethal-ness is to do with how much is consumed with the mandatory 3 servings, or if even one cup would make you light-headed 🙂  Fortunately for me, I was staying over with Mingmar and family that night, but TA and Marion had to hop in a taxi back to Thamel.  they arrived safely. Upon leaving for the International Wheelchair Day celebrations on Saturday morning, Doma presented me with a gift of khapse pastries.  These are made from flour, sugar and milk, made into various shapes and then deep fried.  There goes my healthy eating plan again.

Doma's khapse in the copper plates that we use to eat our dhal bhat dinner every night at Lok's house.

Doma’s khapse in the copper plates that we use to eat our dhal bhat dinner every night at Lok’s house.

Happy Losar!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Losar!

  1. Tandi says:

    I sure would love some dhal bhat!

  2. Wagner says:

    Happy Losar Kate!

Leave a Reply

