Kutumba concert

I was pretty tired after the full day at Friday’s silent auction fundraiser, but was keen to go to the Kutumba concert at the Chandeswari Temple in Banepa on Sat night.  Kutumba are an instrumental traditional Nepali band, that are just HUGE here in Nepal.  Check out their sound here. They were playing in Banepa as part of an event to raise funds to build a new senior citizens home close to the temple.  I knew about it because Ram’s sarangi teacher Rashil, used to be a member of the band and told me if I liked the sound of the sarangi, I would like this band. To me, the sarangi sounds very similar to Oliver Schroer’s fiddle playing in his Camino CD and also very like Mary Lamond’s fiddle playing in the Seinn CD.  Rashil is now off on a quest to check out their music. The concert was fabulous, I went with Lok & Krishna’s daughter Nicole who left her kids & husband behind, we danced for 4 hours straight – such fun! A few photos …..

Kutumba in action at Chandeswari Temple.  Sorry for the quality!

Kutumba in action at Chandeswari Temple. Sorry for the quality!

The crowd at the concert

The crowd at the concert

Nicole & Friends at the concert sans kids!

Nicole & Friends at the concert sans kids!

Me with Rizmi, who is branch manager of a local bank!

Me with Rizmi, who is branch manager of a local bank!

Nicole with the heart throb of the band :-)

Nicole with the heart throb of the band 🙂

And another small world story.  This kind of thing happens me a lot! Karen and I bump into Rashil on Sunday in Banepa with his wife and a friend.  We chatted about the concert, I told him I met a guy earlier that day that knew him, he runs a cafe across the road from the British Embassy in Kathmandu.  Karen needed to visit the medical clinic (she’s doing OK now) and I took the opportunity to grab a decent coffee (some things never change).  The three of them howled with laughter because the co-owner of that little cafe that I happened to be in earlier, was in fact Rashil’s friend standing right in front of me.  He was visiting Rashil and his wife from KTM for the day. It really is a small world.  What are the chances eh?

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kutumba concert

  1. Grace Coffey says:

    I love that music Kate – doesn’t it have a bit of an Irish influence too? gx

Leave a Reply

