Leaving SIRC

Another farewell today, this time at SIRC.  I had a busy day finalizing the content for a Rotary grant application, and then ran a session to help define the Elevator Pitch staff will use when talking about SIRC.  We gathered the heads of department and a few long-term staff, and had some good fun.  By the end of the hour we had an elevator pitch defined, which will be translated into Nepali and used to officially launch the Friends of SIRC campaign.  Watch the website for that upcoming announcement.

SIRC staff who contributed to the elevator pitch session

SIRC staff who contributed to the elevator pitch session

Immediately after, there was a gathering of both patients and staff in the canteen, for some treats and a farewell presentation to me.  I was delighted with the turnout and the lovely words, as always, from Esha.  And I was delighted to get a t-shirt ‘You are Special’ signed by all the staff – very special for me!

With Binay and Nikita (the MBA interns) with the T-shirt

With Binay and Nikita (the MBA interns) with the T-shirt

With Mandira, Samzana and Chanda, I will miss them!

With Mandira, Samzana and Chanda, I will miss them!

With the fabulous Esha, my friend.  It was a pleasure working with you.

With the fabulous Esha, my friend. It was a pleasure working with you.

The Dynamic Duo - Binay and Nikita - thank you for everything!

The Dynamic Duo – Binay and Nikita – thank you for everything!

Patients and staff alike lining up for the treats.  I suspect that was the attraction, not me.

Patients and staff alike lining up for the treats. I suspect that was the attraction, not me.

 

The Media Team for the Yaatra with the infamous Ram.  we were honoured to work with such an inspiring guy.

The Media Team for the Yaatra with the infamous Ram. we were honoured to work with such an inspiring guy.

So now I am in Kathmandu, for a few more farewells, and will fly to Dhaka on Wednesday.  Time sure is flying fast!  

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaving SIRC

  1. Karen says:

    Kate: I know your leaving is bitter sweet. Glad to see Binay and Nikita came to your farewell gathering. Enjoy your next adventure.

  2. Kate TP says:

    Kate, what a lot you have packed into your 5 months at Sirc. I am sure you will be missed! I have so enjoyed reading about your experience in Nepal and I am now looking forward to learning about your life in Bangladesh. Warmer weather has just begun in Vancouver, you will miss that this year but am thinking your experiences will more than make up for it!

  3. Angela says:

    Kate – You have definitely left your mark at SIRC! Your shalwar kameez is very pretty, especially love the colour and pattern. Good luck on your next adventure!

Leave a Reply

