Moving in and feeling like home

Yesterday, I moved into my rental apartment, a very happy moment!   It was just great to have my own place and enjoy cooking again.  My hotel is less than a half a block away so I got one of the young guys at the hotel to help me carry the bags over to the new apartment.  A lady by the name of Parvin  does the cleaning and laundry at the apartment so she arrived soon after I arrived and showed me the lay of the land.  I will want for nothing!  She is absolutely stunning looking, I feel like an oaf next to her,  She is a single mum with two kids, a 15 year old girl and a 7 year old boy and seems to provide this service to a few apartments in the building.  Both kids are in school and she hopes they will go on to 3rd level education.  She never went to school but she can read & write enough to get by, and her English is excellent. I took the opportunity to have Parvin walk me over to a nearby market to get some groceries & cleaning supplies.  We live in such a global world these days that I got pretty much everything I needed … including decaf coffee!  I dunno why I crave coffee daily, it’s decaf for crying out loud but it is a must have.  We got two rickshaws back with all the stuff, it seems I am set up very well for the next 4 months.  Parvin also agreed to give me some cooking lessons on local dishes, fantastic! Got the wifi reconnected too, a luxury I know but how I have missed wifi in the evenings.  Also, there is electricity here most of the day!  As compared to load shedding for 8+ hours at a time in Nepal.  We had one outage for about an hour last night but the generator kicked in so a few lights & the fans & AC remained operational.  Bliss!  Maybe it is because I am in Gulshan, but I think there is more infrastructure here in Dhaka than there was in Kathmandu.  Even when sightseeing around Dhaka on Sunday through other neighborhoods, I still got that same sense.  The roads are paved and maintained, traffic lights work etc.  Just the general feel I get. Once Parvin left, it felt good to unpack my bags into wardrobes, hang up my clothes, lay out toiletries in the bathroom knowing no other young volunteers will use them, and generally be happy to no longer live out of my bags.  In Banepa everything stayed in bags for want of furniture to put my clothes in. I loaded up on Mortein’s mosquito repellent plug ins, my internet research deemed this product was the best for use in high-mosquito areas such as Dhaka.  And I am happy to report no new mozzie bites for me overnight.  Woohoo!  It’s always the small things eh? I slept well on my first night in my new home, today is a whole other day.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving in and feeling like home

  1. Grace Coffey says:

    Wishing you every happiness in your new home! Enjoy the cookery lessons – please bring your fav home with you. Xx

  2. Esha Thapa says:

    kate…you sound as happy as always…love your blog
    We will try to make you life better when you are back in Nepal. Rasil’s apartment is the answer. There is a new city museum oped in town.

    • Kate Coffey says:

      No need to worry Esha, I will,be back to SIRC for sure! And yes, Rashil’s apartment will be perfect for me when that time comes. I saw about the new museum, I think Kumudini mentioned it on FB! Missing you all …. love Kate xo

Leave a Reply

