A chance encounter

I shared this already with my friend Barb and thought it might be interesting for the blog. We had an almighty storm here in Dhaka yesterday afternoon, and although I had a brolly with me, it was a deluge.  I spotted a cafe and stepped inside to get myself a soda water and wait for the rain to stop.   I spotted a Bangladeshi man walking with a glass of coke over to a table and just before he got to it, a women dashed in ahead of him, grabbing the table he was going for.  He stood bewildered for a moment, caught my eye, I smiled and he headed over to my table and asked if I could share the table with him.   We got talking about manners and what he could have done about it.  He suggested hitting her over the head with his wet brolly.  I laughed and told him he did not look the aggressive type.  He told me he was a Buddhist (a minority in Bangladesh btw) and so he could have mindfully bashed her with his brolly, not wishing any further malice to her and that would make it OK.   I laughed from my toes!  Thankfully he laughed too.  We humans can rationalize anything eh??   Soon after we finished our cold drinks, the rain stopped and we went on our separate ways. I just loved that encounter.  In the midst of all the warnings of dangers for me here in Dhaka, humanity is alive and well I am glad to report.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Bangladesh and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A chance encounter

  1. Grace Coffey says:

    Fabulous encounter – May it be the first of many! Xx

  2. Kate TP says:

    Kate, I hope you are able to have many more of these encounters. So humanizing after so many dire warnings about safety and security for you.

  3. Debra Walsh says:

    Kate, that is so heartening! And I love that the humour in it was not lost for both of you!

Leave a Reply

