Great hike today

it’s the Bridle Path Walk.  it’s real easy to get to, just two city buses from Riccarton to the Christchurch Gondola base on Mt Cavendish.  And really all it is, is a walk up and over to the town of Lyttleton, have a coffee, then walk back.  

It’s only 5km return walk but it’s a decent cardio workout and gets those butt, core and leg muscles working from minute 1.  Gord Michaux would have approved.  The walk is up up up 1100ft/350m to the summit ridge, then down down down the same distance into Lyttleton.  After the caffeine hit, return the way you came.  

Very efficient hike and some fantastic views (when the clouds lifted) as well as being able to see at close quarters, the earthquake damage to the mountain along the trail.  I met one lady doing the return hike as I was coming down into Lyttleton.  It transpired she is in training for the Everest Base Camp trek this November – a great coincidence.  She’ll be fine on that Namche hill if she continues doing this walk daily!

View of Christchurch from the summit of the Bridle Path Walk

View of Christchurch from the summit of the Bridle Path Walk

View of Lyttleton from the summit of the Bridle Path Walk

View of Lyttleton from the summit of the Bridle Path Walk

 

 

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great hike today

  1. jgedye says:

    How is the damage after their big quake/ get all the pointers you can… just in case.!

    j

Leave a Reply

