Camino photos ….. Finally

Lady roasting peppers and later canning for the winter.

Lady roasting peppers and later canning for the winter.

Walking through vineyards outside of Ponferrada.  Reminded me of the Okanagan in BC

Walking through vineyards outside of Ponferrada. Reminded me of the Okanagan in BC

I have to credit Grace with all of these photos – thanks Sis xo

Wine tasting along The Way.  It's a tough life being a pilgrim

Wine tasting along The Way. It’s a tough life being a pilgrim

This turned out to be Joe's daily routine - find a river to cool off the feet!

This turned out to be Joe’s daily routine – find a river to cool off the feet!

A carving into the rock face out the back of a fab albergue we stayed in, in Ruitelan.  Louis and Carlos the owners were such a neat couple, really homey place.

A carving into the rock face out the back of a fab albergue we stayed in, in Ruitelan. Louis and Carlos the owners were such a neat couple, really homey place.

We met some great people along the way including two girls from Boston, Maria and Nancy.  All I can say is, they sure can party!

We met some great people along the way including two girls from Boston, Maria and Nancy. All I can say is, they sure can party!

The next few photos give you an idea of the gorgeous food we have been eating.  As I said, this pilgrim life is tough!

The next few photos give you an idea of the gorgeous food we have been eating. As I said, this pilgrim life is tough!

Lentil soup - yum

Lentil soup – yum

Mixta salad - available everywhere.  The tomatoes are the sweetest you have ever tasted ..... Except maybe from my yard

Mixta salad – available everywhere. The tomatoes are the sweetest you have ever tasted ….. Except maybe from my yard

One of the pilgrim meals we signed up for.  They cost under €10 and are usually three or four courses, including wine.

One of the pilgrim meals we signed up for. They cost under €10 and are usually three or four courses, including wine.

Scallops at Portomarin at the Mirador Restaurant

Scallops at Portomarin at the Mirador Restaurant

Plate of pimentos - an odd time there might be a rogue hot one or two on the plate that would bring tears to your eyes.  Great for the sinuses :-)

Plate of pimentos – an odd time there might be a rogue hot one or two on the plate that would bring tears to your eyes. Great for the sinuses 🙂

I am realising his walk has a serious food theme!  My fav dish in this photo is the salted cod stuffed peppers with squid ink sauce - to die for!

I am realising his walk has a serious food theme! My fav dish in this photo is the salted cod stuffed peppers with squid ink sauce – to die for!

Finola, Grace and I drenched wet after a hard slog in pouring rain, arriving into O Pedrouso, knowing we were just 20km from Santiago de Compestella.

Finola, Grace and I drenched wet after a hard slog in pouring rain, arriving into O Pedrouso, knowing we were just 20km from Santiago de Compestella.

Our arrival in Santiago - woo hoo!  The early morning rain stopped as we walked into the city thankfully.  Grace has now covered 500km while Finola and I have covered just under 120km.  We definitely felt like importers in comparison to Grace.  Well done to Grace on completing her walk to celebrate her 50th year!

Our arrival in Santiago – woo hoo! The early morning rain stopped as we walked into the city thankfully. Grace has now covered 500km while Finola and I have covered just under 120km. We definitely felt like importers in comparison to Grace. Well done to Grace on completing her walk to celebrate her 50th year!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Spain and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camino photos ….. Finally

  1. Renu says:

    Wohoo! Congrats… Absolutley lovely pics. Pass my love to Grace & Joe. Tell him the stalker is watching!!

  2. Beverley says:

    Congrats to u Kate blisters & all for persevering, well done! Grace, very impressive way to celebrate ur 50th. Got to love those Coffey girls!!!An acquaintance of mine will be doing her 2nd walk on the Way next May, 800 K is her goal. She did a much shorter version on her 1st walk.
    Great pix, txs. for sharing.
    Beverley

Leave a Reply

