The challenges ahead for Nepal

I thought this article from  the BBC outlines pretty clearly the challenges Nepal will face in the days ahead.  http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-32469112

As for SIRC, they are relatively self-sufficient having solar panels for electricity generation, their own water source and vegetables growing in the land that surrounds the centre.  As mentioned earlier, patients and staff are sleeping outside in tents tonight given the aftershocks – probably the safest place for them.  I have heard from other friends in the Banepa area, that the local schools are being used as temporary accommodation for those whose houses are badly damaged.  The strong aftershocks continue to be very scary.

What’s not known as yet is what supplies are on hand at SIRC – rice, flour etc in addition to the all important medical supplies that are needed for the spinally injured patients, whose health is tenuous at the best of times.  Another challenge will be the availability of staff – many of whom live in Kathmandu and may not as yet have been able to get home from Bhainsepati into the city to be with their own families.

It is just after 1am right now in Nepal so it will be another few hours before more updates are available.

In the meantime, I await to hear news from a dozen or so friends who I have not yet been able to connect with.  Keep them safe.

Some photos of the devastation in Kathmandu from Kanak: https://www.facebook.com/kanak.m.dixit/posts/812794755464086

Your thoughts and prayers for Nepal and it’s people are appreciated.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The challenges ahead for Nepal

  1. Debra Walsh says:

    Hi Kate, have you managed to reach your other friends yet? I hope they are ok. Have been watching BBC and am so saddened by the devastation and loss of life. What charity should I donate to that would make the most difference in this situation? Xo D

    Debra Walsh MEd. RCC 311-545 Clyde Ave West Vancouver BC V7T 1C5 604-341-5865

    >

Leave a Reply

