Tennessee William’s The Glass Menagerie

A wonderful evening last night with friends at Jlonka and Marcel’s – small plates & wine – followed by Tennessee William’s The Glass Menagerie produced by Bowen’s own Kingbaby Productions. Check out the write up in the Undercurrent.

What made this production special was a real-life mother/son team Jackie Minns and her son Andrew Cameron playing the roles of Amanda and Tom Wingfield respectively.

Last time I saw The Glass Menagerie was when I had just emigrated to Canada in April 1997. I landed in Toronto before starting my cross-country train ride and on my second night in Canada, managed to get a ticket to see Kiefer Sutherland along with his mother Shirley Douglas play the mother/son Wingfields. It was pretty awesome for me to see Kiefer Sutherland live, having only ever seen him in movies prior to this. If memory serves me right, he and his mother did a fine job at the Royal Alexandra Theatre in Toronto.

Last night’s performance was just fabulous, and brought back such good memories of my initial days in my new country.

If you missed the performances this weekend, then you still have a chance to see it next weekend.

Glass Menagerie

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Canada and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

