Remembering Uncle Jerry

November 19 brings the first anniversary of Uncle Jerry’s passing in Bairnsdale last year.  A parishioner from the Churchill Parish where Uncle Jerry was Parish Priest at the time, wrote this little poem as Uncle Jerry was being moved on to his next posting.

1st anniversary Unc

I think that says it all.

1st anniversary Unc & Kate

Uncle Jerry and I in August 2014, on my last day with him in Bairnsdale VIC

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Remembering Uncle Jerry

  1. Beverley says:

    Your Uncle Jerry was such lovely human being . A beautiful fitting tribute to one of God’s Angels on earth, your Uncle Jerry. So grateful we got to meet him when he was on Bowen.

  2. KATHERINE DONOVAN says:

    Beautiful photo Kate!!!! Can’t believe a year has passed. We think of you often, especially as the kids wear their awesome puffy jackets from you. We are still so deeply grateful for them!!! Miss you, xoxox K

    Katherine Donovan, RMT, BCSI 604-607-5212 http://www.katherinedonovan.com

  3. Maggie Muldoon says:

    Beautiful Kate

  4. Bill G says:

    Thanks, Kate: Your Uncle Jerry was a very fine man, and a great pleasure to have known, even in short visits. Take good care, Bill

Leave a Reply

