Our Mum

Our Mum let go of life peacefully on Easter Saturday just before midnight.  She’d had a hard enough time of it health-wise over the past few years, so it was a blessing really that she has continued her life’s journey to join her beloved parents, two brothers Colm and Brendan as well as her sister Phil –  she was a long time missing them.

We’ll miss her terribly though, you never really are quite prepared, now are you?

Blog - Mum & me Nov 2014

Mum and I at her 80th birthday in 2014.

The ceremonies over the past few days to send her safely on her way were just lovely and included my Dad, all us girls, my brother, Auntie Ita (the wise one), English & Irish grandkids and her three god-children.

At the very end of the funeral mass, my sister Sinead read out our Mum’s favourite poem – Lake Isle of Innisfree.

Yeats wrote this poem while in London, lonesome for the small island of Innisfree in Co Sligo, where he spent his childhood summers.  And for you movie buffs, it also served as the genesis for John Ford’s famous movie The Quiet Man.  The poem recounts Yeats’ hope to return to Innisfree because of the peace and quiet it affords.

Very apt in these circumstances.  I hear the island of Innisfree is indeed heavenly.

 

Lake Isle of Innisfree

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,

And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made;

Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honey-bee,

And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

 

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,

Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;

There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,

And evening full of linnet’s wings.

 

I will arise and go now, for always night and day

I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;

While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,

I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

             – W.B. Yeats

Rest In Peace Mum.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Canada, Ireland and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Our Mum

  1. Lyndsey Jennings says:

    Sorry for your loss… Sending our love and gentle hugs… L&J

  2. Mick Canning says:

    Sorry to hear, but I’m glad she went peacefully.

  3. Emily-Jean says:

    Jackson and I are so sorry for your loss but I think this is such a beautiful tribute.

  4. Heather says:

    Kate we are so sorry to hear about your Mum. I am glad you and your family were able to be together. The poem is beautiful and a lovely visual. Take gentle care. Love Heather, Brian, Erin and Jack.

  5. renu says:

    Beautiful Poem and Send off for your Dear Mum. With Love to you all.

  6. Tandi says:

    Oh Kate. I am so sorry for your loss. It is lovely though to hear how well your mom has been sent off on this next step of her journey. Blessings to you and your family. XO

  7. Teresa Owen says:

    Hi Kate,

    I am sorry that your Mum has passed away. It’s a long time since we have had contact and I am sorry that it is under sad circumstances. Wishing you well. Xx

    • Kate Coffey says:

      Lovely to hear from you Teresa, I never knew you were tracking this blog 🙂 I hope you and John are doing well, I think it has been decades?! Sad time for us here in Cork but therapeutic to be here all the same. Much love to you both.

Leave a Reply

