Flooding yesterday in Banepa

These are photos I got from my friend Shree, who lives in Banepa.  Major overflow from the very swollen Rudramati River – monsoon has already arrived.  The following photos are located right at the edge of town.  For those of you familiar with Banepa, the flooding hit the low-lying areas just as you come over the bridge from the Kathmandu direction, close to HRDC.

Banepa is where I will be living in the coming year but where I am staying is on higher ground.  This however is the route I take to walk to SIRC, so I guess I would not have been going to work today.

Shree tells me there have been no casualties but clearly there has been a lot of damage.  As if life is not already tough enough there.

Banepa 1

Banepa 2

The highway looks to be completely flooded. I'll be living in the taller buildings to the top-left of the photo.

The highway looks to be completely flooded. I’ll be living in the taller buildings to the top-left of the photo.

Yup, this is the highway right through town - flooded.

Yup, this is the highway right through town – flooded.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flooding yesterday in Banepa

  1. Mick Canning says:

    As you say: ‘as if life is not already tough enough there!’

  2. lalastudios says:

    Wow, and I was complaining on Saturday about a little rain. 😦

  3. Pingback: Flooding yesterday in Banepa — Bowen to Bangladesh | Phoolbari- A Garden (फूलबारी- एक बगैंचा)

  4. Pingback: Flooding yesterday in Banepa — Bowen to Bangladesh | Better Stronger Brighter Nepal

  5. Pingback: Monsoon and weddings in Banepa | Bowen to Bangladesh

Leave a Reply

