Downtime

I’m taking advantage of a little downtime and start a 10-day silent meditation retreat tomorrow (Saturday).  It’s a Vipassana course I have wanted to take for some time, but never really had the time to spare for it.  I’ve made some time now.

vipassana-1054232_960_720

I’m booked into Dhammi Khitti which is located a few kilometers SW of Kathmandu and will get there from Banepa via bus and microbus – should be easy enough.

I’ve never done such a long silent meditation retreat, so hope I can hack it!  Will tell you all about it upon my return.

Until then

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Downtime

  1. Mick Canning says:

    Hope it goes well, Kate.

  2. Patrica Butchart says:

    Morning Kate You will love the retreat. I did it in British Columbia back in the ’90’s. We were the first group in that centre as it had just been built. We were 4 to a room We were aloud to talk the first night but after midnight it was silence. So before we went to bed I talked with the ladies and said now just be patient t with each other and if someone jumps out of bed one morning with a big smile and a loud “Good morning”. Please do not be upset. Just smile and put your head down and continue with your silence. Because it did and can happen that you forget. After the 10 days the ladies said they were so grateful that I had said that because it did happen. So our room was peaceful. I knew from a previous retreat where someone got quite upset because someone was talking. And we had a wonderful experience of peace and quiet. Look forward to hearing about your experience. I would love to go to India. Once you do a 10 day you can go anywhere in the world and be of service. Peace Patrica Gananoque,Ontario

    Patrica Butchart Sales Representative REMAX Hallmark Realty Group 1-613-301-0703 To unsubscribe at anytime, please reply with the word ‘unsubscribe’

    >

    • Kate Coffey says:

      Wow, so wonderful to hear you have done this retreat and to hear your experiences and advice – much appreciated. I am really looking forward to it, a tad apprehensive but in a good way. Dhanybhad!

  3. Patrica Butchart says:

    Morning again I should have introduced myself. I am part of Rotary in Gananoque. I work with the Interact students at the high school. I am also involved with the Tailoring Course with Shree’s help. He is awesome. One of these days I would love to visit India and meet Shree and all the ladies that have taken our course. Blessings and have a great retreat. Peace Pat

    Patrica Butchart Sales Representative REMAX Hallmark Realty Group 1-613-301-0703 To unsubscribe at anytime, please reply with the word ‘unsubscribe’

    >

    • Kate Coffey says:

      I knew who you were Patricia 🙂 Shree talks of you fondly, but to visit him you will have to come to Phoolbari, Nepal, not India! Definitely plan a visit sometime, you will not be disappointed to see the great work he and his brother do for their community.

      • Patrica says:

        Shree is so sweet. And we are all so proud of him. I figure if I do get to Nepal I would also go to India and do the retreat there. So I am looking forward to hearing all about your 10 days. Breath it all in!!! Blessings. Pat

  4. jgedye says:

    Om ma wa ma wa ma te ma hi mo ha

    E ma ho ma ye ru pa ye ta dhu dhu so ha

  5. beverley says:

    “Move to your heart, Breathe.
    Close your eyes & breathe deeply – slowly —
    Fill your lungs with love & gratitude –
    Exhale each & every trouble –
    Again & again — Gratitude in — Troubles out”

    Safe & memorable journey Kate,
    Namaste xo

Leave a Reply

