Farewell to Nepal … for the time being

A few of you have been pestering me for photos of myself, and as usual I have none of my own.  I am not known for selfies.

As luck would have it, I’ve had a few outings over the past while, where some more than others have insisted on taking a few photos with me in them, so here goes ….

Myself and Nikita at Trisara (live music place).

Myself and Nikita at Trisara (live music place – Sound of Streams were playing).  Photo credit Trisara (they have a photographer who takes a steady stream of photos throughout the night).

Anu, Archana, Nikita and I had a night out in Lazimpat recently and I now regret not getting a photo of us all togther.

Dr Prakash is recently returned from Pakistan after passing his Fellowship exams.  Dr Prakash is now a neurosurgeon – wow!  Drs Peter Wing and Claire Weeks have guided Dr Prakash through Spinepal – click here to read some more.

Myself with Sheela

Myself with Sheela

Keeping with the Spinepal theme, I also had a lovely coffee with Sheela, wife to Dr Raju.  Dr Raju is another of the Nepali doctors Drs Peter Wing and Claire Weeks support through SpiNepal.  Dr Raju has been in Dhaka, Bangladesh over the past few years and he sits his final exams next Spring to hopefully become Nepal’s first PM&R Doctor (Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation).  I would wish him luck, but he’s a smart guy, we know he will do it!

Myself with a few of the SIRC folks, out for the night in Thamel last weekend. Woo Suk Jung from KSCIA, Korea also joined us!

Myself with a few of the SIRC folks, out for the night in Thamel last weekend. Woo Suk Jung from KSCIA, Korea also joined in the fun.  I now know he is a Rock n’ Roller – hee hee

Neecol and I having lots of laughs in KTM, a fun day!

Neecol and I having lots of laughs in KTM, a fun day with my beautiful friend!

Enjoying dinner out with the Kayasthas in Bhaktapur - there is always lots of food with this family - yum!

Enjoying dinner out with the Kayasthas in Bhaktapur.  This family love their food … they are my kind of people.  Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.  Much love.

A beautiful sunny day in Banepa on my last morning with Lok, Krishna Maya and Reena.

A beautiful sunny day in Banepa on my last morning with Lok, Krishna Maya and Reena.

I’ve been in and out to Kathmandu so much lately (visa stuff etc), I’ve not been able to meet everyone as I would have liked, but be assured I will miss Nepal and will return!  In the meantime, my bag is packed and I am ready to go.

My bag is packed and I am ready to go. Only one bag for 9 months .... it helps that I no longer need winter clothes :-)

Only one bag for 9 months …. it helps that I no longer need a -20C sleeping bag and winter clothes & boots 🙂

Sri Lanka here I come.  I’m looking forward to that first smell of the ocean and eating seafood – yum!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Farewell to Nepal … for the time being

  1. renu says:

    made my day to see your bright smiles. Onwards to Sri Lanka.

  2. Carolyn Stuar says:

    Great to see these pictures. Looking forward to more news as you move to a new challenge .

  3. Carolyn Stuart says:

    put a t on that last name please

Leave a Reply

