On the flight back earlier

I just got back to Colombo from Jaffna on the 3.30pm Friday flight.  Two strange things happened.

At the military airport in Jaffna, we had to walk from the waiting room (I can’t really call it a terminal) along the runway to a siding to get to our plane today.  As we got closer, we realized they were still fueling, so we the passengers told the airport personnel that it might be a good idea if we held back until they were finished.  He even allowed me take a photo of the plane being refueled.

Notice there is not a building in sight!

Notice there is not a building in sight!

And the next story is especially for Bowen Islanders.  You’ll remember a few days after our Bollywood on Bowen fundraiser for the Cove Commons (Bowen’s Library Annex & Gallery extension project), there was another Bollywood Party down by Doc Morgans where top performers from Asian Paints were treated to a feast of Bowen’s best foods and a whole lot of music and dancing Indian style.

Well, the guy sitting next to me on the flight home from Jaffna today works for Asian Paints and he told me the only time he was ever in Canada was this Summer in Vancouver.  This rang a bell with me so I asked if he knew of Bowen Island and guess what – he was at the Asian Paints party on Bowen!  Can you believe it??

When someone says it’s a small world, do they realize how really small it is?!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Sri Lanka and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the flight back earlier

  1. Bill G says:

    Hi, Kate: Thanks for this – the Municipality just announced today that they have recived a grant for $250,000 towards the Annex project, so the fundraising is almost complete. Well done! Merry Christmas, and much love to you, Bill

    On Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 5:53 AM, Bowen to Bangladesh wrote:

    > Kate Coffey posted: “I just got back to Colombo from Jaffna on the 3.30pm > Friday flight. Two strange things happened. At the military airport in > Jaffna, we had to walk from the waiting room (I can’t really call it a > terminal) along the runway to a siding to get to our pla” >

  2. Tina Nielsen says:

    I remember the Asian Paint gathering out on Doc Morgans lawn. So very loud on quiet little western Bowen. We didn’t quite know what to make of it all. But the Bollywood performers at least lent us some idea of how life can be lived much louder 🙂 Weird coincidences are everywhere. Glad your doing well. We miss you here. Tina

  3. Reidun says:

    Hey Kate and Tina….(Tina here, not there, ha Ha)
    Getting sister-in-law Muriel to help me navigate reading some of your blogs. So much fun to read, I just don’t get to it often enough. So interesting Kate. Thanks for taking the time to keep us in the loop.Thank you for the New Years wishes…or was it Xmas?
    Fun that you met the fellow that preformed on Bowen…so cool.
    Sorry you are missing this incredible winter. The best ever!!! Snow, clear sky and gorgeous sunsets.
    I was out this afternoon looking for ice, as my ice skates were calling my name :] I found Ice alright. Could hardly walk anywhere, but I’m not complaining as it was so sunny and clear.
    Had the kids, girlfirends, Heidi and Muriel here for pizza night tonight. We are all loving to watch Heidi smash food all over the place while trying to navigate it to her mouth.
    I clicked the box for the updates so should be in the loop now. Finally ey ? :[ What a lagger.
    All for now. Love to hear everything. XOX Reidun

    • Kate Coffey says:

      Thank goodness for Muriel and her technical prowess! Welcome to the blog Reidun 🙂 And for all your news … glad to see you guys take delight in laughing AT a defenseless little baby …. here’s hoping you had a lot of clean up once she finished ‘eating’ as payback. Is there skating on any of the lakes – Josephine, Grafton or even Killarney?? Did you get the Grouch out with you for a romantic skate? I can just imagine ….. xo

      PS. These comments are public for all to read FYI.

Leave a Reply

