What a girl can and can’t do

Kanak Mani Dixit is the co-founder of SIRC, along with his wife Shanta.  Sadly, Kanak’s father passed away at the end of December.  May “Dada” rest in peace.

This article is an account of Dada’s final cremation rites, written from Kanak’s sister’s perspective.

In Hindu culture, women are not allowed to take part in the cremation ceremony at all and this was particularly difficult for the writer, who’s profession focuses on gender equality in Nepal.

With the encouragement of family, she ended up taking part in this important ritual of her father’s cremation.

She writes “In my line of work, I often spout theories about gender equality and equity, and how women in Nepal should be provided equal opportunities. That day I realised it was not enough just to provide opportunities or to wish for change.

You need someone to push you, and you need someone to pull you. On 29 December, it was my uncle and sister-in-law who gave me the push, and my brothers who pulled me.”

You can read the full article here.

When brothers, uncles and sisters-in-law are encouraging women to be considered equal to men in Nepal, elsewhere across the US, women are feeling their rights will be threatened with today’s swearing in of the 45th President of the United States.   The mind boggles that we are even talking about this!

It’s telling when the Women’s March on Washington has captured the imagination of women world-wide with 615 marches (and counting) being staged all over the globe as I write this, expressing solidarity with women in the US.

As one 70+ year-old lady said, little did she know when she marched for women’s rights in the 1960s, that she would be marching again for the same issue in 2017.

A sad state of affairs for sure.  Why not get out there to show your support, if not for yourself but for all the fine women in your life.

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What a girl can and can’t do

  1. George says:

    Watched a very revealing Ted talk recently (by Ashley Judd) about how bad online abuse of women has become. Crazy really! It indeed makes me wonder if we’ve truly progressed since that march in 60s… and how much further we still have left to remedy this.

    Here’s the talk (warning: strong language):

    • Kate Coffey says:

      Yiu are right George, the last 50-60 years we must have been fooling ourselves that real change in attitudes towards women had taken place dring that time. I guess we underestimated the resistance to such change. Thanks for the link to the Ted Talk, I’ll check it out tonight. Hope all is well with you!!

      • George says:

        Doing well Kate. Hope you are too. CRIMS is live now and Moxy is set to be turned off at the end of next month. Somehow I thought things would slow down a bit after we went live. But that certainly is not the case!

      • Kate Coffey says:

        Nothing is ever slow at CCL, you should know that by now. Moxy no longer – wow! A milestone for the company … I bet you will not be sorry to see it go. Say Hi to everyone for me!

      • George says:

        Good point! Will do!

    • Kate Coffey says:

      George my goodness, I am completely appalled and to be honest, has no idea how bad this really was. She is courageous in her presentation, I’ll track of this. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

