Nikita’s Supari

Thursday was the first of FIVE events at my friends wedding in traditional Newar style.  It was a real privilege to be in the house for the hours and hours of preparation, and then attend the actual ceremony,  Supari. If you need reminding of what Supari is, you can remind yourself here.

The day started with a steady stream of relatives arriving to lend a hand.  Sangeeta (mother of the bride) had a serious road accident last November and after numerous surgeries on her knee, is still on crutches but making progress to good health, slowly.  As a result, her sisters-in-law had to step in to prepare food for some 60 guests in the family home – no mean feat!

Sangeeta’s sister, Kessbadan is a beautician by trade, it was her role to not only do the hair and make up of the bride, but also of the bridesmaids and other family members.  As you will see in the whole range of photos, applying make-up and doing the hair for such an important occasion is a long long process.  I grew up with six girls in the house and let me tell you, we never did as much preparation for a wedding, ever!  But here in Nepal it is the norm.

The following are a whole series of photos … the best of some 300 shots I took on my little point and click.

Slideshow of the preparation

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then the rush of photos with relatives and friends before Binay’s family arrives

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The puja ceremony commences now that Binay’s family have arrived.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Each family are very happy at the impending wedding.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Can't be away from social media for too long, not matter what the occasion.

Can’t be away from social media for too long, not matter what the occasion.

Vetting the photos, making sure a good job has been done by her cousin!

Vetting the photos, making sure a good job has been done by her cousin!

Four more events to go.  Next event is tonight, application of mehndi for close friends and family members – can’t wait!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nikita’s Supari

  1. Renuka says:

    Lovely 🙂 watched everything in blog:) keep posting:)

Leave a Reply

