Nepali Night in Sri Lanka

It’s all thanks to Gayathri who spent a little time in Kathmandu a few years ago, and her scrummy memories of Nepal’s infamous mo:mo.

Gayathri (m) who spawned the whole Nepali Food Night with Tharshini (r) and Shamali (l) – all making perfect mo:mo

Mo:mo are little dumplings stuffed with meat or veg, and served steamed with a chilli/tomato achar.  They can also be fried or prepared as one of my favourites, chilli mo:mo where they are smothered in a chilli sauce.  Man!  My mouth is watering.

They are usually eaten as an afternoon snack and shared with a few friends.  I must admit to having trouble sharing mine, I’ll only really share with those folks who are extra special to me.

I haven’t made mo:mo too often but promised to teach Gayathri how to make them.  Then the offer grew legs and I ended up with six ladies in my Colombo kitchen last Saturday, all interested in learning how to make mo:mo and a few other Nepali snack-like dishes.

I think this might have been the only time Debi was NOT crying.  Onions and chillis make her cry … lots!  And Firasa gets the sniffles too.

And we had yummy snacks!  From left:  Gayathri, Devi, Firasa, Debi, Shamali, Tharshini & I

We had a blast actually, it was the second time most of us cooked together, the other time being when we prepared the food for BIZ+ volunteer Maheshie’s birthday – that was when the men were NOT invited.

Word spread around the office that the food was good and Yohan then threatened to wear a dress so he could be invited to the next soiree.  That might have been a sight for sore eyes so us ladies decided to include the men, only if they brought dessert – which they did.  It was even homemade!!

Pretty much everyone on the BIZ+ team came, plus Michael’s two girls and wife Anne who fell in love with mo:mos during their Christmas trekking trip to Nepal.  John, the newly appointed head guy at Land O’Lakes International Development who happened to be in Sri Lanka, touring the project’s businesses with Michael all week, also came to the party.  Bet he didn’t think he would be eating mo:mo of a Saturday night in Colombo!  My long-time friend Rita was also in town, she had the good sense to go shopping in the afternoon and enjoy the get together and food later that evening.

And some random photos of the fun throughout the evening.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a lot of work to prepare over 200 mo:mo and just a little work for the guys to make dessert and buy the parathas, but it was well worth the effort, thanks to everyone for making it a great night!

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Sri Lanka and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nepali Night in Sri Lanka

    • Kate Coffey says:

      I know! I just love ’em. Have quite the few converts in Sri Lanka, not only my colleagues in Colombo but also my colleagues in Jaffna who asked for the recipes 😊

Leave a Reply

