Farewell, Kutpai, Ayubowan Sri Lanka

Looking back on all that I experienced, there are two things that surface over and over – the people and of course the food.  I was lucky to be working with a bunch of ladies who love to cook, and eat and love to try different foods.  Lunchtimes every day when I was in  my Colombo base, ended up being a smorgasbord of foodie delights – everyone ended up giving a spoonful of their dish to everyone at the table, and in return you got taste 6-8 other dishes – Sri Lanka’s version of a cookie swap.

The BIZ+ Colombo office team, all in red celebrating International Women’s Day – March 8, 2017

And then there was the work with VEGA BIZ+, providing assistance and coaching to small family run business in the North and East of the country.  The business I worked with were varied:  rice flour mill, FIBC polybag manufacturer, heirloom rice and a garment factory.  All needing various levels of support, some more than others.

I worked particularly closely with Thayalini on one challenging business, but with such an awesome team of ladies, this business is now profitable and the outlook looks very positive.

Thayaini and I saying our farewells at Palaly Airforce Base, Jaffna

And now for a whole bunch of memories …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I missed a few photos – Thushy from Batti office who was a gem to work with.  Also to Prasanna and Purusoth … I ended up only working with them once in the 9 months.

Thank you everyone, for making me feel so welcome, it was a truly memorable experience.  I will miss you all!

Tonight I fly to Kathmandu to visit friends in Banepa for a week or so and will drop into SIRC too.  Dying to see everyone in Nepal!

Much love and peace

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Sri Lanka and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Farewell, Kutpai, Ayubowan Sri Lanka

  1. beverley says:

    Safe journey home Kate to our Happy Isle. Look fwd to seeing you upon your return. Namaste.

  2. Becky Dawson says:

    What a wonderful journey you have experienced with many to meet again thank goodness 🙂 !!
    Here’s to great coffee (VB I think say the best) on Bowen! I look forward to seeing you after your safe trip home.
    Bon Voyage, Becky

  3. Reidun says:

    Oh Kate…You are an inspiration and friend to so many.
    I couldn’t agree more, with your feelings about people and food. My favourites as well.
    See you soon, and look forward to haveing you back on Bowen 💜

  4. Mick Canning says:

    Great you enjoyed your time there, Kate. have a good trip to Nepal. Where are you going after that? Home?

  5. you’re a lucky lucky gal. Enjoy Nepal and have a safe flight home!

Leave a Reply

