Home again, naturally

It’s been a whirlwind of activity since returning home to Bowen Island two weeks ago.  So many friends to spend time with, catch up on 12 months worth of stories from their lives, and share my stories with them (not everyone has the patience to read this blog!).  Many more to meet both on Bowen and in Vancouver … it’s gonna be a social summer.

The weather has been gorgeous since I got back, sunshine with temperatures in the mid-20s, cooling to high teens in the evenings.  With so much recent rain followed by sunshine in the last two weeks, the gardens have just exploded with growth.  They don’t call it a temperate rainforest here in the west coast for nothing!

Bowen Island’s quirky, latest promotion for the tourists LOL

My friends Rob Squared continue to live in my home while they see their construction through, and I am staying with the ever generous Judi who has opened her home to me with open arms.  All going well, I’ll return to my own home by the end of August.  Can’t wait to sleep in my own bed!

Home on Bowen

It’s hard to believe I left Sri Lanka a mere three weeks ago, I feel like I have lived a lifetime since!  I was real sorry to leave all of the people I worked so closely with during the nine months I was there and, while looking through the photos, I have only begun to realize how many long-lasting friendships I made while there.

I love this photo of the BIZ+ team dressed in red for International Women’s Day 2017

And here’s a quick slideshow of the people who made me feel so welcome, allowing me to ease into life in what was my home for 9 months.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nanri / Obata Stutiyi /Thank you to each and every one of you. xo

About Kate Coffey

After 25+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job and spent 2014 living and working in Nepal and Bangladesh, and visited some other places in between. It took me on a journey I did not expect, had me fall in love with Nepal and it's people, and become inspired at the work of Spinal Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SIRC) located 2 hours east of Kathmandu in the Sanga foothills. Since 2014, I have continued my warm relationship with SIRC and worked closely with my friends there in the aftermath of the 2015 earthquakes to date. This blog initially started out as a travelogue of sorts to keep friends and family worldwide updated while I was off on my travels in 2014. Since then it has morphed into a life story of the many places I have lived and worked and of the wonderful people I have met along the way. I hope you enjoy.
This entry was posted in Sri Lanka and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home again, naturally

  1. cep says:

    Great update Kate. Glad to see you home safe and happy xx

  2. Mick Canning says:

    I suspect there will be more adventures before too long…

  3. Becky Dawson says:

    A cherished happiness is giving the way you give Kate – I look forward to seeing you in the ‘hood.
    Welcome back to Bowen thought it’s awful here! xo

  4. ASB says:

    Welcome home, Kate! Look forward to catching up when you are in Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

