Fiesta!

Today at 8am to beat the heat, was the official opening of Tagudin’s week-long Agri Trade Fair. Lots of speeches from Mayor Roque Verzosa, Vice Mayor his wife Vangie Verzosa, representatives from Dept of Trade & Industry as well as Dept of Agriculture and other dignatories. The Agri Fair is celebrating farmers and local organizations such as the calamansi cooperative I am working with, who provide the food we eat. There was a big market full of tables promoting local Tagudinian produce and Ilocano food. I was in my element at this market! Enjoy a few pictures below.

The Fiesta runs for a week so I am sure I will have more photos from other events I will attend. Stay tuned.

It was interesting to hear a push from the local government’s Head of Agriculture, encouraging Tagudinians to take advantage of the free vegetable seeds and papaya seedings available as part of the Agri Trade Fair and plant them in their home gardens. Food security is a topic I have been hearing lots about around here in the past few weeks.

Happy Fiesta!

Fresh produce by small farmers

A selection of Ilocano food!

And to satisfy Moira, some photos of flowers for sale at the market.

About Kate Coffey

After 30+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job in 2013 and started to live my life a little differently.  Still needing to support myself, I work on paying contracts for chunks at a time, earning enough to allow me to volunteer overseas for long periods and put my business analysis skills to really good use.  This new cadence has afforded me the chance to do ongoing work with spinal cord injured in Nepal, microfinance in Bangladesh, small business coaching in Sri Lanka (twice) and more recently in the Philippines,  I feel deeply grateful to be living this life I conjured over a decade ago and to know in my small way, I can influence the betterment of lives. I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I do writing it, telling inspiring tales about the resilience of people.
This entry was posted in Philippines and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fiesta!

  1. Kate Thomas-Peter says:

    I can imagine your delight at all this wonderful fresh produce, even at 8.00 in the morning!

  2. Beverley says:

    Love the photos…what a feast for the eyes! Hope you were able to score a good hot cup of ‘jo’ before the market.

  3. Mick Canning says:

    It all looks pretty marvellous (except for the meat, but that’s just me).

  4. Stan Dicharme says:

    I enjoy following your adventures.

  5. Maeve Mulcahy says:

    Stunning photos Kate!

  6. Reidun van Kervel says:

    Oh my Gosh….Kate, you lucky duck. That food looks fabulous. That Panic, I had to look up. I’ll bet it’s good? And those child oils…get a recipe. I have a ton of pepper plants started this year. 🌶️ Thanks for sharing photos and updates. 💛 R

    >

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.