Canadians making a difference

After a blitz of work at SIRC, and a short mountain flight to view the Himalayas, Karen flew out yesterday and is en route right now for Toronto.  Esha treated us both to a night at the very nice Meribel Resort in Dhulikhel so we were like princesses on Friday night.  I enjoyed and G&T on the balcony … ahhhh!

Karen and I at the Meribel Resort in Dhulikhel

Karen and I at the Meribel Resort in Dhulikhel

While at SIRC, Karen worked on a performance management template to be used by the heads of department and admin staff initially, which will then be cascaded to the remainder of the staff later this year.  Karen also worked on a succession plan by department which was hugely helpful.  And had a ton of fun facilitating a team building session for heads of department in an effort for the various departments to work well together.  This session was a big hit, they had lots of fun and hope Karen will return! Karen did an amazing job at SIRC in such a short period of time – 8 business days and accomplished so much!  Thank you Karen. Meanwhile, Jolene survived her trek to Poon Hill in the Annapurna Region, seeing the elephants in Chitwan, and  is currently catching up on creature comforts in Kuala Lumpar before heading to Vietnam for a month.  I have such pity for her …. not!  She liked the trek so much she is already recruiting for a trek to Annapurna Base Camp next year.  Jai Jolene! On Sunday, en route to Banepa, I stopped off at Child Haven to deliver a donation of readers, crayons, pencils etc from Yvonne Sayson, Investment Counsellor at PHNIC.  Kanya and team were thrilled as can be seen by the photo.  Thank you so much Yvonne, you are as generous as ever!

Kanya and team accepting Yvonne's donation at Child Haven, Arubari in Kathmandu

Kanya and team accepting Yvonne’s donation at Child Haven, Arubari in Kathmandu

About Kate Coffey

After 30+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job in 2013 and started to live my life a little differently.  Still needing to support myself, I work on paying contracts for chunks at a time, earning enough to allow me to volunteer overseas for long periods and put my business analysis skills to really good use.  This new cadence has afforded me the chance to do ongoing work with spinal cord injured in Nepal, microfinance in Bangladesh, small business coaching in Sri Lanka (twice) and more recently in the Philippines,  I feel deeply grateful to be living this life I conjured over a decade ago and to know in my small way, I can influence the betterment of lives. I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I do writing it, telling inspiring tales about the resilience of people.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.