One Year Later ….. Direct Relief

As you may remember, Direct Relief provided US$300,000 in support of SIRC in the immediate aftermath of last year’s devastating earthquakes.

SIRC was the second largest recipient of Direct Relief funds after Nepal’s Ministry of Health and Population – a meaningful donation that provided SCI rehabilitation to many of those injured during the earthquakes, and who would not have otherwise been n a position to have the opportunity to reintegrate back into society with their spinal cord injury.

One Year Later, Direct Relief has produced a report of how their donations were distributed and to whom …. SIRC is featured heavily as you can imagine.  Check out their on-line report here.

Direct Relief also produced a 4-part video series which is available on their Facebook page.  These are short 2-minute clips reminding us of the impact the earthquakes caused, Direct Access’ response, the road to recovery and finally a Thank You from many of the recipients, including SIRC’s very own Esha Thapa.  Use the Next button (top right) to jump from clip to clip.

The following is Part 2 of the four-part series.  I chose this one to show you especially as it gives you a sense of the magnitude of the Direct Relief contributions to SIRC, seen by huge pallets of medical equipment and supplies being off-loaded at Kathmandu airport.

About Kate Coffey

After 30+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job in 2013 and started to live my life a little differently.  Still needing to support myself, I work on paying contracts for chunks at a time, earning enough to allow me to volunteer overseas for long periods and put my business analysis skills to really good use.  This new cadence has afforded me the chance to do ongoing work with spinal cord injured in Nepal, microfinance in Bangladesh, small business coaching in Sri Lanka (twice) and more recently in the Philippines,  I feel deeply grateful to be living this life I conjured over a decade ago and to know in my small way, I can influence the betterment of lives. I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I do writing it, telling inspiring tales about the resilience of people.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.