One Year Later …..

As the days draw closer to April 25th, my thoughts return to my beloved Nepal and the devastating earthquakes it’s people endured, many of whom continue to suffer.

Al Jazeera’s Steve Chou gives a good account of what life is like out in the villages one year later.

 

About Kate Coffey

After 30+ years in the investment management industry, I packed in my job in 2013 and started to live my life a little differently.  Still needing to support myself, I work on paying contracts for chunks at a time, earning enough to allow me to volunteer overseas for long periods and put my business analysis skills to really good use.  This new cadence has afforded me the chance to do ongoing work with spinal cord injured in Nepal, microfinance in Bangladesh, small business coaching in Sri Lanka (twice) and more recently in the Philippines,  I feel deeply grateful to be living this life I conjured over a decade ago and to know in my small way, I can influence the betterment of lives. I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I do writing it, telling inspiring tales about the resilience of people.
This entry was posted in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Year Later …..

  1. Pingback: Blog SCI Nepal | Spinal Cord Injury Collaboration | Nepal

  2. Mick Canning says:

    I have heard so much about the delays from the government and, indeed, the corruption that has siphoned off so much of the aid. It is heart-breaking. The best effort I am aware of comes from an Indian friend, who raised a lot of money and simply went into a particular village and began the reconstruction.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.